10 Q With Artist Steven Mannion Farrell

  1. Recently we had a chat about changing our creative patterns. Once you were a midnight artist until the sun woke up Dublin. What made you change your pattern?

Yes, there was a time I’d only start working when the sun was dipping and I’d paint by moonlight, well not quite moonlight, but I’d paint throughout the night. To be honest I consciously changed my pattern: I have a family and friends and need to be awake when other people are, everything happens during the day, so I needed to adjust my work times.

  1. As a playwright you feel a certain emotion towards each play, like a child. Is it the same for a collection? The Good & Bad memories associated with past creations.

I certainly feel a strong connection to each of my collections. I spend a lot of time on each piece, and each piece ties into the collection’s theme, like my recent ‘land of Heart’s Desire’ collection, each piece was inspired by the works of W. B. Yeats and the landscape of Sligo. When one puts their heart and soul into their ‘creation’ it’s only natural they become emotionally connected to it.

 

  1. If you weren’t an artist what career path would you have chosen?

I can’t imagine being involved in an industry that isn’t creative, I love to write, I love visuals, if not visual art, I’d possibly be involved in some aspect of the film industry (behind the camera). There’s also something in me that would love to be working with animals, I’m not sure in which capacity, but I think I’d possibly go down the line of working for an animal rescue, although I think I’d find it hard to deal with some of the abuse cases rescue centres see all too often. The people who work in rescue centres or with those in need, are some of the real heroes in this world.

 

  1. Right, side note, tell my readers about your own children your dogs?

Yes, my girls. I have three amazing dogs, Bess, Rosie and Lily, and my life pretty much revolves around them. I can’t imagine life without them, they are the most amazingly loving, kind, and beautiful creatures, I am truly grateful to have them in my life. My dogs really make me very happy and some of the most magical moments in my life are when I’m with them, like when they join me in my studio: I’m painting, they’re chilled, snoring away on the couches or under my easel, it’s perfect.

 

  1. What artists have inspired you on your own journey?

 

I’m inspired by lots of different creative people, from W. B. Yeats, to Jackson Pollock, and the artists I take inspiration from change as my work changes and develops.  Jean-Michel Basquiat’s work really inspires me, and Bacon’s pretty amazing too. My favourite living artist is Gerhard Richter and Klimt is possibly my favourite artist of all time. I also get inspired by the work of student artists. I love attending end of year shows in art colleges, I also try to buy as much student art as I can and would encourage others to do the same, it’s a great way of supporting new artists.

 

  1. Advice for the next generation of Artists in a tough road ahead?

You’re right: it can be tough, but for me it has been worth every brush stroke, every not-so-good painting, and every canvas that might have been thrown across my studio! I find creating incredibly fulfilling and someone has to do it, so why not the person reading this, the person who’s unsure or needs that little nudge? So the best of advice “just do it”, if it makes you happy “just do it” – don’t worry about what anyone else thinks, create for you! People want to see your creations and see how you see the world, and they’ll want to share in that by buying your work if they can, so just do it, life is short.

 

  1. Describe that feeling when you sold your first painting?

So, I take a blank piece of canvas, apply some paint, a little creativity and put what in some cases is weeks’ of work into a piece and then someone spends their hard earned money on it, it always feels amazing – each time, and without my clients, I couldn’t be doing what I do, but the first time was pretty mind blowing, it certainly gave me a boost of confidence, I couldn’t do this without my clients and I’m truly grateful to all of them.

 

  1. Outside of the job, what hobbies or interests keep you entertained away from the studio?

When I’m working on a collection, I don’t have much time for anything to be honest, but I do try to spend time with my family and friends. Exercise is also incredibly important to me and I train in my CrossFit gym, Crossfit353, five days a week. I get my dogs out at least once a day and love horse riding. I also teach drama in the National Performing Arts School, which is an amazing space for creative people of all ages. I’m busy but can’t complain – I have a fantastic life.

 

  1. What’s your favourite cheat meal?

When it comes to food, I’d say everything in moderation is the best for me, so I don’t have a ‘cheat meal’ per se, I mean, if I want to have a bar of chocolate I will, I certainly don’t guilt myself over it, but I try to eat as healthily as possible. If it’s been a long week, and I haven’t got the energy to hit the shops or cook, I would probably fire an order to Base Pizza in Ballsbridge – their pizzas incredible.

 

  1. So when is the next exhibition? Give us the exclusive…

So, the exclusive: I have a few pieces going on show in a gallery in Beverly Hills pretty soon which is very exciting, but my next Irish show is going to be this November, it’s a group show with two other artists, one is a fantastic artist called Orla Walsh. We’re organising this show independent of an art gallery and its location is just off St. Anne’s Street in Dublin. There’s a very special guest opening the show and if anyone is looking for the invite or more information, they can fire me an email: stevenmannion@mac.com

http://www.stevenmannionfarrell.com/

 

Leave a comment